Close this search box.

List of Ousted Cabinet Secretaries and their Positions

President William Ruto has announced the immediate dismissal of all Cabinet Secretaries and the Attorney General.


The announcement was made during a national address from State House, Nairobi, on Thursday afternoon.

READ: Ruto Dissolves Cabinet, Appoints PSs to Oversee Ministries

We will now take you through a comprehensive list of the ousted Cabinet Secretaries and their positions;

Ousted Cabinet Secretaries: List

Interior and National AdministrationKithure Kindiki
National Treasury and PlanningNjuguna Ndung’u
Gender, Culture, the Arts & HeritageAisha Jumwa
DefenceAden Duale
Lands, Public Works, Housing & Urban DevelopmentAlice Wahome
Tourism & WildlifeAlfred Mutua
Public Service, Performance & Delivery ManagementMoses K. Kuria
Investments, Trade & IndustryRebecca Miano
Roads and TransportOnesmus Kipchumba Murkomen
Environment and ForestryRoselinda Soipan Tuya
Water, Sanitation & IrrigationZachariah Mwangi Njeru
East African Community, The ASALs & Regional DevelopmentPeninah Malonza
Agriculture and Livestock DevelopmentMithika Linturi
EducationEzekiel Machogu
Energy and PetroleumDavis Chirchir
Youth Affairs and SportsAbabu Namwamba
Co-operatives and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) DevelopmentSimon Chelugui
Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime AffairsSalim Mvurya
Labour and Social ProtectionFlorence Bore
Information, Communications and the Digital EconomyEliud Owalo
HealthSusan Nakhumicha Wafula

Only the Deputy President, Rigathi Gachagua, and Prime Cabinet Secretary and Foreign Affairs, Musalia Mudavadi, retain their positions amid these changes.

The dismissed Cabinet Secretaries served for just two years with Ruto announcing a reshuffle that impacted at least eight ministries in October 2023.

Ruto stated that the decision to dissolve his Cabinet came after careful consideration, extensive listening to the sentiments of the Kenyan people, and a comprehensive evaluation of the Cabinet’s performance, achievements, and challenges.

He emphasized that the only positions unaffected by this shakeup are those of the Deputy President and the Prime Cabinet Secretary.

This significant restructuring comes in the wake of public demand on the regime to stem corruption and incompetence in public offices that have hindered the government’s effectiveness.

The nation now awaits further developments and the appointment of new officials to these crucial positions.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post

You cannot copy content of this page