Close this search box.

New York City Marathon: Kenya’s Hellen Obiri and Ethiopia’s Tamirat Tola Victorious


How It Went Down

  • The women’s competition was exceptionally competitive. Kenya’s Lokedi came back to protect her championship against a formidable lineup that included Boston Marathon champion Obiri, the world record-holder in the 10,000m and half marathon Gidey, and former record-holder Brigid Kosgei.
  • In the end, Ethiopia’s Tamirat Tola was racing against nothing but time, leaving his competitors far behind to claim victory in the men’s race and shattering the 12-year-old course record with an unofficial time of 2:04:59. Albert Korir finished second in his fourth NYC Marathon, while Shura Kitata took third place
  • Marcel Hug and Catherine Debrunner both of Switzerland excelled in the wheelchair races.
| AFP via Getty Images

The 2023 New York City Marathon, the 52nd edition of the annual marathon race in New York City, was designated as a Platinum Label marathon by World Athletics, signifying its status as one of the “leading road races around the world.” It also served as the final event among the six World Marathon Majors scheduled for 2023 with elite runners starting to prepare for next year’s Olympic Summer Games Paris 2024.


The New York City Marathon provided a little something for everyone: a commanding display on the men’s front and a thrilling dash to the Central Park finish by the women.

Also Read: Premier League: Arsenal Lose to Newcastle as Manchester City Secure an Easy Win Against Bournemouth

Tamirat Tola, the 32-year-old Ethiopian athlete who won a bronze medal in the 10,000 meters at the 2016 Olympics, set a new course record by completing the race in 2 hours, 4 minutes, and 58 seconds. He finished more than two minutes ahead of Kenya’s Albert Korir and Ethiopia’s Shura Kitata, breaking Geoffrey Mutai’s 12-year-old record in the process.

Obiri, the reigning champion of the Boston Marathon, secured her second significant victory of the year by completing the race in 2 hours, 27 minutes, and 23 seconds. She narrowly edged out Gidey, the world record holder for the 10,000 meters, who finished in 2 hours, 27 minutes, and 29 seconds. Meanwhile, the defending titleholder, Sharon Lokedi from Kenya, took the third spot with a time of 2 hours and 27 minutes, 33 seconds.

| AFP via Getty Images

Unfortunately, Olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir had to withdraw due to a recent leg injury she suffered a week before the race.

Switzerland dominated the wheelchair events at the New York City Marathon, with Marcel Hug winning the men’s race for the third consecutive year and setting a record, while Catherine Debrunner claimed victory in the women’s race and shattered the event record. Hug’s win made him the first athlete to conquer all six Abbott World Marathon Majors in one year. The race also served as the selection event for the U.S. Paralympic team in the 2024 Olympics, with Daniel Romanchuk, Susannah Scaroni, Aaron Pike, and Tatyana McFadden earning spots.

Read Also: Harry Kane Nets a Hat-trick as Bayern Munich Thrash Borussia Dortmund

Leading results

1 Hellen Obiri (KEN) 2:27:23
2 Letesenbet Gidey (ETH) 2:27:29
3 Sharon Lokedi (KEN) 2:27:33
4 Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 2:27:45
5 Mary Ngugi-Cooper (KEN) 2:27:53
6 Viola Cheptoo (KEN) 2:28:11
7 Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:29:40
8 Kellyn Taylor (USA) 2:29:48
9 Molly Huddle (USA) 2:32:02
10 Fantu Jifar (ETH) 2:34:10

| AFP via Getty Images

1 Tamirat Tola (ETH) 2:04:58
2 Albert Korir (KEN) 2:06:57
3 Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:07:11
4 Abdi Nageeye (NED) 2:10:21
5 Koen Naert (BEL) 2:10:25
6 Maru Teferi (ISR) 2:10:28
7 Iliass Aouani (ITA) 2:10:54
8 Edward Cheserek (KEN) 2:11:07
9 Jemal Yimer (ETH) 2:11:31
10 Futsum Zienasellassie (USA) 2:12:09

Subscribe to our YouTube channel Switch TV

Men’s wheelchair results

1. Marcel Hug (SUI) 1:25:29
2. Daniel Romanchuk (USA) 1:30:07
3. Jetze Plat (NED) 1:34:22
4. Aaron Pike (USA) 1:39:58
5. Watanabe Sho (JPN) 1:40:01
6. Evan Correll (USA) 1:40:06

Romanchuk and Correll earn qualifying spots for Team USA for the Paralympic Games Paris 2024.

The Swiss Duo | AFP via Getty Images
Women’s wheelchair results

1. Catherine Debrunner (SUI) 1:39:32
2. Manuela Schar (SUI) 1:47:54
3. Susannah Scaroni (USA) 1:48:14
4. Eden Rainbow-Cooper (GBR) 1:49:34
5. Aline Dos Santas Rocha (BRA) 1:53:25
6. Tatyana McFadden (USA) 1:53:31

Scaroni and McFadden earn qualifying spots for Team USA for the Paralympic Games Paris 2024.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post

You cannot copy content of this page