Close this search box.

Cristiano Ronaldo Rejects Penalty Awarded to him

In an unusual football moment during Monday’s AFC Champions League match between Al-Nassr and Persepolis, Cristiano Ronaldo waved off his own penalty.


In the early stages of the AFC Champions League clash in Riyadh the former Real Madrid player was brought down in the Persepolis box.

Chinese referee Ma Ning quickly pointed to the spot but Ronaldo, alongside Persepolis players, protested the decision by wagging his finger at the official and telling him it was not a penalty.

Read Also: Man United’s Harry Maguire Accepts Apology From MP Isaac Adongo Who Mocked him in Parliament

After a review, Ning overturned the initial penalty decision.

The Portuguese star has been hailed for his sportsmanship for owning up to the wrong call so it could be rectified.

On the other hand, his supporters might argue that by acknowledging the mistaken call, he dogded potential problems.

Subscribe to Switch TV for more exciting content

Despite Al-Nassr being reduced to 10 men after Ali Lajami’s 17th-minute dismissal, they managed a 0-0 draw, which makes Ronaldo’s honesty even more honourable.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post

You cannot copy content of this page