Close this search box.

Ballon d’Or 2023: Lionel Messi, Aitana Bonmati Emerge Winners

It is now official that Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmati are the winners of the 2023 Ballon d’Or.


Lionel Messi – Men’s Ballon d’Or 2023

Lionel Messi Photo: Getty Images

The Argentina and Inter Miami star was officially awarded after being selected for an eighth time in his career.

Despite being outscored by Erling Haaland in the previous season, Messi’s standout performances in Qatar led many to predict his victory in the award.

Aitana Bonmati – Women’s Ballon d’Or 2023

Aitana Bonmati Photo: Getty Images

Aitana Bonmati has been crowned the best female footballer in the world.

This remarkable achievement comes after a fantastic year during which the Barcelona midfielder secured victory in the Women’s World Cup with the Spanish national team.

She also won the Golden Ball for being the tournament’s best player and scored 19 goals in 37 appearances for her club side.

Bonmati played a pivotal role in Barcelona’s success, contributing to their domestic triumphs and their remarkable comeback in the Women’s Champions League final, where coming from 2-0 behind in the final.

Erling Haaland -Gerd Muller Trophy 2023

Erling Haaland Photo:Getty Images

Erling Haaland has been awarded the 2023 Gerd Muller Trophy for his incredible debut season with Manchester City.

The Norwegian striker delivered an outstanding 36 goals in the Premier League last season, leading his team to victory in the league, the Champions League, and the FA Cup.

He concluded the season with an impressive total of 52 goals across all competitions.

Jude Bellingham – Kopa Trophy 2023

Jude Bellingham Photo: Getty Images

The youngstar has become the first Englishman to win the Ballon d’Or Kopa Trophy.

Bellingham won the prize ahead of nine other nominees, including Bayern Munich midfielder Jamal Musiala, Manchester United forward Rasmus Hojlund and a trio of Barcelona stars, Alejandro Balde, Gavi and Pedri.

The Kopa Trophy recognizes his performances last season, during which he scored 14 times in 42 games for Borussia Dortmund.

The Kopa Trophy is effectively the junior version of the Ballon d’Or.

It is awarded to the player voted to have had the best season in world football while aged 21 or younger.

Subscribe to Switch TV for more exciting content

Emi Martinez – Yashin Trophy 2023

Emi Martinez (left) and his father Photo: Getty Images

Aston Villa star Emi Martinez has been awarded the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper.

Manchester City goalkeeper Ederson came second in the vote, with Morocco star Yassine Bounou third.

Thibaut Courtois and Marc-Andre ter Stegen were fourth and fifth respectively.

The trophy was claimed by the Argentinian following his exceptional contributions to his countrys victory in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Only one goalkeeper has ever won the Ballon d’Or, Lev Yashin, in 1963.

So, in a bid to ensure more shot-stoppers were recognized at their annual ceremonies in Paris, the Yashin trophy was introduced.

Vinicius Junior – Socrates Award 2023

Ballon d'Or
Vinicius Junior (left) Photo: Getty Images

Real Madrid winger Vinicius Jr, honored with the Socrates Award for his off-field contributions like, starting a foundation that is building schools in underprivileged areas and promoting education in Brazil.

The Brazilian also said that he will remain committed to speaking out against racism in the world of football.

Read Also: Vinicius Jr: Brazilian Reveals Why he Won’t Spend his Entire Career at Real Madrid

Manchester City – Men’s Club of the Year

English football side, Manchester City, has been crowned the Men’s Club of the Year.

The Etihad outfit recorded massive success in last season as they won a treble; the English Premier League, English FA Cup and the UEFA Champions League.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post

You cannot copy content of this page