Supreme Court has united all presidential petitions into one

Supreme court
accord university

Chief Justice Martha Koome said the Supreme Court has consolidated all seven presidential petitions into one, with two other petitions struck out.

During a pre-trial conference on Tuesday, Chief Justice Martha Koome said that all the remaining seven petitions have raised the same issues highlighted in the lead petition filed by the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition.

Supreme court
Chief Justice Martha Koome

“The ending of the matter will therefore read as Raila Odinga and Martha Karua will be the first petitioners,” Koome said.

Koome said John Njoroge Kamau will be the second petitioner.
Youth Advocacy and Peter Kilika will be the third petitioner.

Keriff Khalifa, George Osewe, Ruth Mumbi, Grace Kamau, and David Kariuki will be the fourth petitioners.

Okiya Motatah, Nyakena Wildlife, Victor Uguna, and John Maina will be the sixth petitioner.

Julia Nyokabi, Joseph Mutua, and Simon Mwaura will be the seventh petitioner.

She further said President-elect William Ruto and Deputy President-elect Rigathi Gachagua will be the first and second respondents respectively while the IEBC will be the third respondent.

Commission chairman Wafula Chekubati will be the fourth respondent while vice chairperson Juliana Cherera will be the fifth respondent, Irene Masit (6th), Justus Nyang’aya (7th), Francis Wanderi (8th), Abdi Guliyev (9th) and Boya Molu (10th.)

Attorney General Kihara Kariuki will be the 11th respondent.
Law Society of Kenya, ICJ, John Walubengo, Joseph Savile and Martin Mirero were admitted as friends of the court, otherwise known as amicus curie.

Don’t forget to subscribe to our You Tube channel at Switch TV.

“That is the order of the Court for the consolidation of the matter,” Koome said.

The seven judges expected to rule on the Presidential petition include, Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, justices William Ouko, Mohammed Ibrahim, Justice (Dr.) Smokin Wanjala, Lady Justice Njoki Ndungu, and Justice Isaac Lenaola—are led by Chief Justice Martha.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

scroll to top