Close this search box.

IEBC Commissioners Split over Presidential Results

IEBC commissioners Split over Presidential Results when the IEBC Vice Chair Juliana Cherera makes a statement shortly before Chair Chebukati declared the fifth president of Kenya.


Four out of the seven commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) disowned the election results right before the release of the presidential results on August 9th.

IEBC Commissioners Split
IEBC Commissioners Split amidst Presidential results

Addressing the media from Serena hotel on Monday, the four commissioners led by IEBC Vice Chair Juliana Cherera said the last phase of the electoral process which is the verification of results was not transparent.

“We have conducted the 2022 General Election most effectively and efficiently. We have ensured that we have improved the standards and consistently communicated what is happening. We have partnered with all stakeholders and we say it for a fact that as a commission we have done a good job but some things need to be put out there,” said Cherera.

She added: “As you can see, the four of us are here and not at Bomas where the result is going to be announced because of the opaque nature of how this phase has been handled. We, therefore, cannot take ownership of the result that is going to be announced.”

The commissioners urged Kenyans to remain peaceful and allow the rule of law to prevail.

“…we have an open door that people can go to court and because of the same we urge Kenyans to be peaceful because the rule of the law is going to prevail,” she said.

Don’t forget to Subscribe to our You Tube Channel at Switch TV.

The four commissioners include Cherera, Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’anya, and Francis Wanderi.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post