Close this search box.

Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania Named Joint Hosts of AFCON 2027

The East Africa joint bid commonly known as the “Pamoja Bid”, has won the hosting rights for the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) as announced by CAF on Wednesday.


The trio managed to beat the likes of Senegal to win the hosting rights. This will be the first time that the three nations have ever hosted the tournament.

The news was announced by CAF president Patrice Motsepe shortly after the conclusion of the executive committee meeting held in Cairo, Egypt.

Initially, Namibia had joined forces with Botswana but later withdrew leaving the small Southern Africa nation to go solo.

Zambia and Burkina Faso had shown interest but didn’t officially submit their bid books.

AFCON 2025

Algeria was initially a strong contender alongside Morocco for the 2025 edition, but they decided to withdraw from the race on the eve of the CAF executive committee’s meeting.

Read more: AFCON: Algeria Withdraws From Race a Day before Hosts are Announced

The Nigeria-Benin joint bid also withdrew their candidacy for the 2025 edition, clearing the path for Morocco to proceed unopposed.

Despite these withdrawals, the committee unanimously voted in favor of Morocco’s bid with 100% support (22 votes).

In October last year, the 2025 edition was taken away from Guinea by CAF due to concerns about the country’s slow progress.

Morocco last hosted the AFCON in 1988 and was chosen in 2015 but asked for the tournament to be postponed because of the Ebola virus.

CAF later decided to strip the north African nation of the hosting rights.

Subscribe to Switch TV for more exciting content


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post