Safaricom CEO to Chair Drought Response Team

Safaricom CEO to Chair the National Steering Committee on Drought Response

To create a private sector-driven mitigation appeal fund, President William Ruto has gazetted the 15-member National Steering Committee on Drought Respons led by Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa.

Members include; EQB CEO, James Mwangi, KCB Group CEO, Paul Russo, Diamond Trust Bank CEO, Nasim Devji, African Banking Corporation (ABC) CEO, Shamaz Savani, Family Bank Kenya Limited CEO, Rebecca Mbithi, East African Breweries Limited CEO, Jane Karuku, Jamii Telecommunication Limited CEO, Joshua Chepkwony, and British American Tobacco CEO, Crispin Acholla,. The Committee will serve for 12 months effective November 20.

Safaricom CEO to Chair the National Steering Committee on Drought Response

The committee’s primary interventions will be in the areas of food, water, livestock, health, wildlife, energy, education, security, forestry, agriculture, and irrigation.

The committee will work closely with the Kenya Red Cross and will be tasked with establishing a private-sector-led National Drought Mitigation Appeal Fund, as well as mobilizing resources to supplement the government’s drought response program in alleviating the impact of the country’s drought.

Safaricom CEO to Chair the National Steering Committee on Drought Response

Read also:Drought Hits Horn of Africa as UNHCR Appeals for Immediate Solution

They will report to the Deputy President, and will also support interventions to protect affected populations from the effects of the ongoing drought.

Over 23 counties are affected by the drought. The drought is affecting around 4.35 million Kenyans in these counties. Among them are 120,000 moms who are pregnant or nursing and 900,000 children who need immediate nutritional care.

Subscribe to our You Tube Channel at Switch TV.

The Kenya Red Cross Secretary-General Dr. Asha Mohammed, the CEO of Kenya Bus Services Management Edwins Mukabanah, Impact Philanthropy Africa’s Patricia Mugambi Ndegwa, the ISHA Foundation’s Krishma Jitesh Chavda, and the National Drought Management Authority’s Hared Hassan (Lt.) Col. will also be on the committee.

The Secretariat of the National Steering Committee on Drought Response will be based at Harambee House Annex.

Read also:England, Wales and other European Nations not wear Love Arm Band to the World cup

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Popular Post