Nanok awarded ‘UN person of the Year 2022’ by UN


Aaron Nanok has been mentioned the UN Person of the year 2022 by the United Nations at the UNEP headquarters in Gigiri, Nairobi.

Aaron Nanok has been named the person of the Year 2022 on Monday, October 24 by the UN, following his contribution towards solving food crises in the country.

“Aaron Nanok, an Agronomist from Turkana County named as the UN in Kenya Person of the Year Award winner 2022 for his commitment to sustainable agriculture,” the organization wrote.

UN Kenyan Person of the Year Aaron Nanok poses with his award at the UNEP headquarters in Gigiri, Nairobi on Monday, October 24, 2022.

During his speech of acceptance, Nanok expressed his gratitude thanking the World Food Programme (WPF-Kenya) and the country government of Turkana for empowering him to turn his idea into a workable solution.

“Thank you WFP for nominating me for this award. I would like to thank my employer for giving me the opportunity that other youths yearn to make other people’s lives better,” Nanok stated.

The agronomist talked to the President William Ruto’s government to guarantee food security in the country.

“We can only be food and nutrition secure if we make our agri-food systems resilient and include food not only as a human right, a common and public good,” he stated

Nanok currently serves in the Agri-Nutrition Unit in Turkana County. Turkana’s governor Jeremiah Lomurkai was present at the award ceremony.

Also feted during the event was The National Environment Management Authority (Nema) for their contribution towards conservation.

“NEMA was awarded in acknowledgment of the effort in promoting and safeguarding the environment in Kenya and working towards enforcement of the plastic bags ban.

Subscribe to our You Tube Channel at Switch TV.

“The ban on plastic carrier bags was a key player in working towards the historic plastic resolution adopted by UN members states in March 2022 and was hailed as the biggest moment for the environment since the Paris Agreement.” the organization announced.

Former recipients of the award include renowned primary school teacher Peter Tabichi and Martin King’asia Food for Education founder Wawira Njiru.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Popular Post