Close this search box.

President Ruto chairs his first Cabinet meeting with Uhuru’s CSs

President William Ruto chairs his first Cabinet meeting with former Uhuru's administration

President William Ruto is holding his first cabinet meeting with all cabinet secretaries from various dockets at his Statehouse office, Nairobi.


According to The Standard, the purpose of the meeting is to give a report to the president on how the government is operating from each cabinet ministry.

All Cabinet Secretaries from the former Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration availed for the meeting.

President William Ruto chairs his first Cabinet meeting with former President Uhuru Kenyatta's administration.
President William Ruto chairs his first Cabinet meeting with former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration. [File: PHOTO]

Those in attendance are; Deputy president Rigathi Gachagua, Attorney General Kihara Kariuki, Head of Public Service, Joseph Kinyua, Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, Cabinet Secretary for Transport, Infrastructure, housing, Urban Development and Public Works of Kenya, James Macharia, Cabinet Secretary for Lands, Farida Karoney and Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture, Peter Munya.

Other Cabinet Secretaries include Health CS, Mutahi Kagwe, Margaret Kobia ( Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs), Najib Balala (Tourism), Eugene Wamalwa (Defence), Keriako Tobiko (Environment), Amina Mohammed (Sports), Rachel Omamo (Foreign Affairs), Joe Mucheru (ICT), Monica Juma (Energy), Ukur Yattani (Treasury), Betty Maina (Trade) and Simon Chelugui (Labour).

Last week, Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua said Cabinet Secretaries and Principal Secretaries who former President Uhuru appointed would remain in office until his successor names their replacements.

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel at Switch TV.

Kinyua said this would ensure there was no vacuum during the intervening period of the transition from Kenyatta to President Ruto’s administration.

“As earlier notified vide our circulars Ref. No. OPJCAB.42/IA of 2O’ June 2022 and Ref No. CAS/GEN.3/16Vol.III/(22) of 3P August 2022, the transition from the Fourth Administration to the Fifth Administration continues apace and shall only conclude when appointments to the Cabinet and the senior ranks of the Executive are concluded,” Kinyua stated.

There are several rumors that Ruto’s chief of staff David Chirchir and advisor Ababu Namwamba may be appointed to posts in his administration.

Current Lands CS Farida Karoney may be one of the two current CSs who may survive the chop, the other being Labour CS Simon Chelugui.

Read also: Uhuru’s Cabinet Secretaries Extend stay in office.


Get the latest and greatest stories delivered straight to your phone. Subscribe to our Telegram channel today!

Popular Post